First Impressions: The Sweet Scent of Singapore

My first stop, of many across the globe, was Singapore. Originally planned as a stop over to partially recover from jet lag and for some comfort on the ground, before rising 39,000 ft again to continue my journey to Australia, Singapore was a surprising visit and a place that I won’t forget any time soon. The three places below are all places that you could fit into a short visit or stopover, in this vibrant city.

East Coast Park

East Coast Park was an area full of locals and authentic food stalls, which I was keen to immerse myself in at once, but it took a few moments to feel completely relaxed in my new environment. Originally unsure of what to order, from such an unfamiliar menu, the sweetness of the steaming pineapple, egg fried rice, topped with an even sweeter, delicate, stringy fibre, confirmed I had made the right decision (I am yet to find out what this ingredient was, so please inform me if you know!) But, the coastal views, relaxed vibe, and seeing what the locals ate was exactly what I enjoyed about East Coast Park. Plus, it was close to the airport and easy to reach by bus.

Around the corner, at a home stay, I was greeted by an elderly woman. The house was her daughter’s, but she worked all day. Without a mutual language, we attempted to communicate and the smile on both of our faces made me feel at ease.

The English posters across the city, accompanied by the sound of voices in an unfamiliar language, was something I was not used to. The warm temperature, with intense humidity was also alien to me. However, with the weather aside, an Asian country, with so many apparent similarities to the West, surprised me at first. Having never ventured outside of Europe before, it felt new being part of a minority; an ethnic minority group, in the suburbs of Singapore.

Adventure Cove Waterpark, Sensota

The next day, the cool waters at Adventure Cove Waterpark, made me feel at home again. Among the crowds of excitement, it appeared that the seek for thrilling rides was universal. The temporary relief from the humidity was also greatly appreciated. The grand attractions of Sensota, the resort that Adventure Cove was a part of, reminded me of how I have always imagined America to be, another place that I have never visited.

Gardens by the Bay and Marina Bay Sands

By night, the ‘Garden Rhapsody at Gardens by the Bay’ came alive with music and lights. A ‘musicals’ theme encompassed everything in the garden with childhood dreams; I Dreamed a Dream seemed to be the most apt song to accompany this magical experience. Very close by, the ‘Spectra: A Light and Water Show at Marina Bay Sands’ began soon after, so I was lucky enough to watch both shows.

I would definitely recommend a short visit to Singapore if you have a chance and are looking for an interesting stopover!

2 thoughts on “First Impressions: The Sweet Scent of Singapore

Leave a comment